Recent Searches
Clear

Private Authentic Puerto Rican Food Tasting with Cooking Lesson

star-4.524 Reviews
|
San Juan, Caribbean
Private Authentic Puerto Rican Food Tasting with Cooking Lesson

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 travelers1 traveler2 travelers3 travelers4 travelers5 travelers6 travelers7 travelers8 travelers9 travelers10 travelers11 travelers12 travelers13 travelers14 travelers
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon4 to 6 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Don’t leave sampling the best of San Juan’s classic cuisine to chance, ensure you pleasure your palate on this half-day food tour. Ideal for food lovers, this excursion showcases the best of San Juan’s casual culinary scene: feast on snacks from more than 60 different kiosks in Los Pionones and spend free time relaxing on Luquillo Beach. Snacks and bottled water will be provided and the best part is you eat what you cook.
  • Ideal for food lovers wanting to sample authentic Puerto Rican cuisine
  • Choose to purchase street food from more than 60 kiosks in Los Pinones
  • Relax on the white sands of Luquillo Beach
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off are included
  • Food samples are included
Saved to wishlist!
Food
Bottled water
Snacks
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)
Gratuities

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

Please arrive 10 minutes before your selected start time for pickup. Your operator can coordinate exact time and location.

Please enter your exact pick up location.
Your tour begins with pickup from your San Juan hotel. After boarding an air-conditioned vehicle, you’ll head straight for the food markets of La Placita de Santurce. On your visit, you will get to learn and taste some of our delicious treats such as quenepas, papaya, apple bananas, sweet pineapples, plantains, and more. 

The second stop is just a few steps away from Isla Verde, Los Pinones kiosks where more than 60 stalls exude tempting aromas, here you will learn how to create dishes such as alcapurria, pastellios, and mofongo.

After lunch, choose between relaxing on the white sands of the nearby Luquillo Beach after Los Pinones’ arrays of stalls sell everything from crisp fritters and fresh seafood to Italian-inspired pasta dishes or returning back to your hotel.
  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY Real PR Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "The tour started an hour late and instead of being a 4-6 hour tour, it was 2 hours and 20 minutes." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
24 Reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-5 of 24 reviews
star-4
Enjoyed going and trying authentic food
Heide_P
, Nov 2021
Nice food tour. Enid was wonderful and she always made sure we were ok and taken care of. Food was great.
star-5
Must book
Kristina_R
, Sep 2021
We had steph for the time and she was nothing short of amazing. She had excellent conversation- helped us get souvenirs- suggested great places. Helped with food prep and was engaged with us the whole time. I recommend you ask for her specifically when you book. If I could give 10 stars I would just for her alone. Food was tasty - alcapurrias were my favorite !
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
WOW! Thank you Kristina for this amazing review. We are so pleased that you had fun in Puerto Rico and with Steph. We hope you come back and have more adventures with us. Blessings! -Real PR Tours
star-1
Very frustrating
Eve_K
, Aug 2021
I contacted the travel company multiple times times and they never showed up to pick us up. We kept being told we would "hear from them soon". After 90 minutes we were told they couldn't find the tour guide, so the trip never happened.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hi Eve, we completely understand your frustration and we deeply apologize for the lack of communication. Unfortunately our guide had a family medical emergency in the middle of the night and was unable to communicate with our staff in time to find someone to cover her tour. We definitely do not intend on leaving clients waiting, so we did make an attempt to try a find an available guide last minute and unfortunately, we couldn’t get one. Our apologies once again.
star-4
Food was amazing. Ask for Yuma
heather_F
, Jul 2021
One of the best tours on the island. Yuma was absolutely amazing. She took her time and allowed us to shop and really enjoy the food and culture. She explained everything perfectly and was filled with knowledge and information. Thanks Yuma u made my trip even better.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
YAYY! We are so happy you enjoyed your time with Yuma. It's a pleasure to serve you. We can't wait to see you again. Blessings. -Real PR Tours
star-3
Not as described
jjbierin
, Jan 2020
This tour wasn't really what we were expecting. Our guide was friendly and personable, most of the food we ate was delicious, and Los Pinones was a cool place we wouldn't have seen otherwise. However, a lot was off. First, we received no response to our attempts to communicate until 14 minutes before the tour was supposed to start, so we were wondering if it was even happening. The text we received asked if we were still interested, even though we'd already paid. The tour started an hour late and instead of being a 4-6 hour tour, it was 2 hours and 20 minutes. Granted, some of that was because we couldn't go to the beach due to a high surf. In Los Pinones we went to exactly one food stall, not 60; we didn't even walk around. We were hoping to get an idea of what and maybe where to eat for the rest of our trip, trying small pieces of different things. We ate the entirety of three things and a couple of fruits. It wasn't a bad experience, but certainly not what we paid for.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Hi good morning, Iet me first apologize for the communication issues. I’m not sure if you’re aware of the on going earthquakes here on the island but it has caused a very unreliable communication system here in the island, but someone should of had reached out to you at least 24hrs prior. Also I think that there was a little misunderstanding regarding the tour that you choose. The tour that was chosen was the half day food tour w/beach clean up. Which consists of a local farmers market, cooking & tasting in Pinones and the 40 min beach clean up..and with the weather being very bad the volunteering was not an option. This tour is generally should be 3.5-4hours long. Our tour the that is up to 6 hours with the 60 different kiosks would be a full day tour. So I’ll make sure to specify that a little more clearer on our ad. We truly do appreciate you’re honest feedback so we can make the necessary changes. Thank you again for your input.
2 travelers found this review helpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Private Authentic Puerto Rican Food Tasting with Cooking Lesson
Private Authentic Puerto Rican Food Tasting with Cooking Lesson

star-4.524

4 to 6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$115.00

star-4.541

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$150.00

star-5149

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$122.00

star-4.510

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$90.00

Explore Similar Things to Do