Recent Searches
Clear

Bioluminescent Bay Kayak Adventure Tour from San Juan

star-3.578 Reviews
|
San Juan, Caribbean
8

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon6 hours  (Approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Overview

Kayak through the waters of Laguna Grande, a stunning bioluminescent lagoon, during this half-day tour from San Juan. Watch the glowing organisms in the water light up as your kayak slides through the water. Paddle through stands of mangrove trees and watch small fish dart through the water underneath your boat like shooting stars. Stop for a break with snacks and refreshments before heading back to your starting point. Use of all kayaking equipment and round-trip hotel transfers are included.
  • Kayak through the waters of Laguna Grande—a bioluminescent lagoon
  • Watch the glowing organisms in the water light up as your kayak slices through the water
  • Paddle through stands of mangrove trees and watch small fish dart through the water underneath your boat like shooting stars
  • Stop for a break with snacks and refreshments before heading back to your starting point
Saved to wishlist!
Hotel pickup and drop-off (within the San Juan area)
2-seater kayaks and equipment
Kayaking orientation and instructions
Commentary of the surrounding area and its Flora and Fauna.
Light Snacks
Ice cold bottled water
Gratuities
Additional transfer fee to towns outside of San Juan/Metro area such as Rio Grande, Luquillo, Fajardo and Dorado will apply; please contact us for more information.

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
Complimentary pick up in selected areas of San Juan: Old San Juan, Condado, Isla Verde, Miramar and Ocean Park (contact us for additional assistance). Meeting point available in Luquillo for persons staying in Rio Grade, Luquillo and Fajardo.
Exact pick up time will be provided the day prior to the tour.

Ports

  • Panamerican Pier


Departure Time

3:30 PM
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Additional transfer fee to towns outside of San Juan/Metro area such as Rio Grande, Luquillo, Fajardo and Dorado will apply; please contact us for more information.
  • Maximum weight is 260 pounds, please specify your exact weight at moment of booking as we have a limited amount of these kayaks.
  • At time of booking, Cruise ship passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: contact phone number or email, ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time. No refunds will be authorized due to failure to communicate correct information.
  • Minimum age to participate is 7 years. Participants cannot be afraid of the dark as you will be kayaking thru pitch black areas.
  • Not suitable for pregnant women, persons with recent surgeries, past injuries or back problems. Bear in mind each participant must be capable of paddling on their own and will be sitting on the same position for about 2 hours.
  • You will get wet, it is recommended that you wear bathing suit underneath, bring a towel and extra clothes for after the tour.
  • Each Bio Bay tour is guided by a certified interpretive Marine Biologist trained in First Aid & CPR
  • Meeting time: Times might change depending the season and your hotel location. If so we will contact you in advance.
  • Please Note: During the months of November, December and January, bioluminescence may be poor due to cooler temperatures.
  • The bio bay is an unpredictable natural phenomenon that may be influenced by multiple factors. Bioluminoscity level can vary from very visible to minimum or none without any previous notice. Full Moon phase may also affect the visibility of the bioluminescence. In the event of this happening alternate methods such as the use of a tarp will be incorporated in order to appreciate it.
  • This tour does not includes a stop to eat.
  • Please travel light and only bring the necessary to the tour. Leave behind electronic devices, any important documentation like passport, large sums of cash or credit cards. Cell phones require waterproof case. Bespoke Lifestyle Management will not be responsible for lost or stolen belongings. No luggage allowed on the buses.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Published starting time is only san estimate. Exact pick up time will be provided the DAY PRIOR to your tour.
  • Bus will wait only 5 minutes after your assigned pick up time. No refunds will be issued if you miss your pick up.
  • Failure to provide hotel/lodging/cruise information upon booking may result in bus not being able to pick you at your location or close to it. No refunds will be issued if you miss your pick up.
  • Bespoke LM Reserves the Right of Admission - If a person appears to be under the influence of alcohol or drugs, not following COVID19 protocols or not dressed appropriately (due safety) the Guide has the right to Cancel their reservation at any moment, and No Refunds will be issued due to this.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Tours will NOT be cancelled if it’s raining. It is still safe and the water will still glow under the rain. If the tour needs to be cancelled for severe weather conditions the Company will contact the client.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Bespoke Lifestyle Management

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Bioluminescent Bay Kayak Adventure Tour from San Juan?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Bioluminescent Bay Kayak Adventure Tour from San Juan.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Bioluminescent Bay Kayak Adventure Tour from San Juan?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Bioluminescent Bay Kayak Adventure Tour from San Juan.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Bioluminescent Bay Kayak Adventure Tour from San Juan?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Bioluminescent Bay Kayak Adventure Tour from San Juan.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Bioluminescent Bay Kayak Adventure Tour from San Juan?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Bioluminescent Bay Kayak Adventure Tour from San Juan.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Bioluminescent Bay Kayak Adventure Tour from San Juan?
A:This activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Bioluminescent Bay Kayak Adventure Tour from San Juan.

Still Have Questions?


Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "Don't go just for the light up Bay as it's not overwhelming but the mangroves trees at sunset were beautiful." See review
  • "I recommend taking the later tour when it is darker out." See review
  • "A bit crowded as people were hesitant at times, but you'd rather that than getting lost from your group." See review

Reviews

3.5
star-3.5
78 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 78 reviews
star-5
Awesome experience!!
Wilson_L
, Jun 2021
Awesome experience! The guides were super cool. Just make sure u apply a ton of mosquito repellent before the tour. They really attack you!!
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
“Eh” experience
Grace_W
, Jun 2021
Our mediocre experience was partly not their fault- the weather was a bummer, and all the clouds reflected light on the water too much to see the bioluminescence…. Which was really disappointing. I think even if it were way darker you’d still barely be able to see it- just go to a different bay in Puerto Rico. But besides that, the guides weren’t super helpful or overly friendly, and paddling back against the current was an absolute sh*t show with people getting stuck in currents and traffic jams of kayaks. It was packed with people. The best part was the sunset, and other than that it was just eh. Also keep in mind that if you don’t go in an even group or in a pair you will be paired with a stranger (who may not know how to kayak).
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Dear Grace, We are sorry to learn you did not had the best experience during this tour. Even thou we have on the description and voucher a disclaimer explaining how the bay is an unpredictable phenomenon influenced by different factors, that can cause the levels of bioluminescence to vary from bright to none, we completely understand expectations can be high. If you are back in PR sometime I would like to invite you to experience a different bio bay with us, feel free to reach out to me directly when the moment comes.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Such a cool experience
CAD
, May 2021
We had great guides! It was a beautiful paddle through the red mangrove trees. Seeing the plankton was so cool!! Never done anything like it. My friends and I had such a great time!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
It was my birthday and I cried cause I wanted everyone to go!
M_C
, May 2021
What an incredible team. These gentlemen were so dedicated to ensuring that everyone had a good time (despite how much of a wrench we threw into their plans). The team was accommodating, kind and overall gracious. So thankful for such a magical experience.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Terrible
Candy_S
, May 2021
It was storming so bad last night didn’t hardly no one wanted to do the tour. It was dangerous and cold after they told us to wear swim suits. Worse experience ever. Called the coordinator she never responded.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
Dear Candice, We are sorry the weather condition was not the most favorable one the day of your tour. Our guides have years of experience conducting this tour, and they know when it is dangerous to operate and when they can continue with the tour. On this day it was raining, not storming, this is why the tour went on (only you and another party decided not to participate). We understand and respect that you did not wanted to get wet, but this was your personal decision, not something related to our operations.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Never got to attend
Ryann_F
, May 2021
Trip was cancelled the day before. Waiting on refund. Find it odd that allegedly there were not enough people to have the tour start yet when we tried to rebook this tour it was sold out everywhere.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
Dear Ryann, We are extremely sorry we weren't able to accommodate your reservation on the booked date. Your refund was approved from our side back on May 10th. Best,
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Horrible
Lilian_O
, Apr 2021
Their should be instruction at every point to inform participants what is going to happen. Too many time wasted just waiting around. The pick up time was not was said on the website. Also I paid for glass both and got regular boat. Someone should specify on the website that you will not be able to get the glass if you weigh a certain weight.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
Dear Lilian, I am sorry to learn you had this negative experience. I must clarify, these instructions are specified under the tabs of What is Included, Additional Information and Ticket Redemption details, which means also on your Confirmation. They read:"Maximum weight is 185-190 lbs (86 kg). Due to the strict weight restriction all participants are subject to be weighted prior to beginning the tour. No cancellations or refunds will be issued if a person neglects to inform correct weight, and is not able to participate of the tour. Participants weighting from 190 to 260 lbs must notify upon booking in order to reserve a regular kayak, these kayaks are very limited." It seems unfair to be rated poorly for a situation that we were diligent to advertise on multiple areas of the tour description. Future travelers, please make sure to read the entire description prior to booking and share it with the rest of your group. This way we can avoid misunderstandings like this and be able to provide the better service we are known for. The time listed on the automatic confirmations are estimate starting times. This can vary depending on the locations participants are staying at. We always call the day prior to confirm exact pick up time and other important details. My apologies if this part of the information was not clarified.
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Disappointed
Joanna_A
, Apr 2021
Tour guide was nice. Other guests in group were very rude and aggressive. Example: purposely passing and splashing us with water pushed up from their paddles as passing while we are all supposed to be single file. That was just one small example. The excursion was good enough but will never do this tour again. It was a lot of money spent to oooo and ahhhhh for three minutes.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
Dear Joanna, We understand the disappointment that part of the experience could have brought you. We strive for our staff to be respectful and accommodating in every possible way, and I am glad you got to experience that. Just a reminder for future travelers: the reviews you leave are focused in our company services and employees. Receiving a poor rating that affects our credibility due to other guests wrongful behavior is also disappointing when we learn we did met the service expectations.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Guides were a lot of fun!
Shammara_A
, Mar 2021
I feel bad giving it 3 stars but for 100 bucks a person it was a let down. We still had fun because we hung out with the tour guide and he was great! The distance of kayaking was very short but took us forever because we went so slow because of our large numbers. They also didn’t clarify very well at the beginning that if you weigh 190lb plus you can’t use the “glass bottom” kayak. Even if the couple combined is under 380lb. Lastly, the bioluminescence really depends on nature and the moon. They use a tarp to put over you so that you can see just a tiny amount of a glow. Yes it can be more at some points but from the sounds of it it’s more typical for it to be very minimal. Would be worth it for maybe 40 bucks, though I think I mainly payed for the bus ride to get there. Transportation is super expensive here.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Best experience in San Juan
Tiheem_H
, Mar 2021
The weather was beautiful out here and the beaches and I also loved the food to I I’m planing on booking another trip here
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful

Explore Similar Things to Do