Recent Searches
Clear

Small Group Napa Valley Tour for Wine Lovers

star-4.5157 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
San Francisco, United States
Small Group Napa Valley Tour for Wine Lovers
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

From $259.00

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon9 to 10 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Escape for a day in the wine country on this exclusive Napa Valley winery tour from San Francisco, with all tasting fees included! Your small group tour visits three estate wineries, beginning with Castello di Amorosa. A private guide, leads you to discover the winemaking process and learn the differences among the varietals. Enjoy the Napa Valley regions of Yountville, St. Helena, and Rutherford. Stop for photos at the “Welcome Napa” sign and the Golden Gate Bridge.
  • Travel to picturesque Napa Valley for a day of wine tasting
  • Tour and taste wine at a Napa Valley landmark—Castello di Amorosa
  • Learn the art of wine making at two more prestigious, estate wineries
  • Relax and enjoy California’s scenic valleys
  • All tasting fees included in the tour price
Saved to wishlist!
All wine-tasting and touring fees at three Napa Wineries (value $100) subject to changes
Tour Castello di Amorosa’s medieval castle
Guided by a knowledgeable wine enthusiast
Photo stop at Welcome to Napa sign and Golden Gate Bridge
Complimentary SF hotel pickup & drop off
Gratuities (only for PRIVATE tour option)
Gratuities
Meals
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Hilton San Francisco Union Square , 333 O'Farrell St, San Francisco, CA 94102, USA

Meet at the Mason street entrance (Eastern entrance). Please check your email confirmation from Extranomical Tours or contact the provider to confirm your pick-up details and time

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

8:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.For Hilton Union Square - meet at the Mason street entrance (Eastern entrance). For other locations, please meet outside hotel main doors. If your hotel is not listed, please select Hilton Union Square or Hotel Zephyr Fisherman's Wharf or alternatively add your hotel and we will provide the closest pick-up location. You will be provided your exact pick-up location and time upon confirmation. Please always refer to the providers confirmation.
California’s famous wine country is not to be missed when you’re in San Francisco, and this small-group day trip makes it easy to experience. After a convenient hotel pickup in the morning, your tour makes its way to exclusive Napa wineries, like Castello di Amorosa, which are rarely included in larger wine tasting tours.

During your day trip, meet local winemakers and sample varietals from different winemaking regions. Hear informative commentary from your private wine enthusiast guide about how to taste and enjoy wine. Take home some beautiful memories from photo stops at the “Welcome to Napa” sign and at the Golden Gate Bridge.

All wine tasting fees are included in the tour price so there’s nothing to do but enjoy the special day.

After dropping you at the front door of your San Francisco hotel, enjoy a bottle of wine you’ve purchased during your tour. Cheers!
Itinerary
Pass By:  
San Francisco Bay
San Francisco Bay is a shallow estuary in the US state of California. It is surrounded by a contiguous region known as the San Francisco Bay Area (often simply "the Bay Area"), and is dominated by the large cities of San Jose, San Francisco and Oakland.
Pass By:  
San Francisco Bay Bridge
Go over the bay and out of San Francisco on the two level suspension bridge
Stop At:  
Napa Valley
Enjoy wines from the Napa Region
Duration: 4 hours 
Admission Ticket Free
Pass By:  
Rutherford
Home of famous "Rutherford Dust" Cabernet wineries
Pass By:  
Yountville
Pass by award winning vineyards, Michelin-starred restaurants
Pass By:  
St. Helena
This town can be described as quaint, old school and relaxed. As we pass the main street you will see why
Stop At:  
Castello di Amorosa
A medieval-styled Tuscan castle winery constructed using more than 200 containers of European materials and furnishings. On your way to vaulted wine cellars, check out the moat, drawbridge, towers, courtyards and armory. Thankfully, Castello di Amorosa puts the same love and attention into its wines which are elegant, intensely flavored, and well-balanced.
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Calistoga
Small city in the heart of Napa known for its hot springs, mud baths and wineries. Choose from the many restaurants and cafes for lunch (not included)
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Tamber Bey Vineyards
The winery is located at the Sundance Ranch in Calistoga, a world-class equestrian facility that is dedicated to training top performance horses. The tasting room is located in the original barn clubhouse designed by renowned Napa Valley architect Howard Backen. The barn surrounds the courtyard, where guests can taste wine, mingle with the horses, and enjoy stunning views of Mount St. Helena and the Palisades.
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Kieu Hoang Winery
Enjoy a reserve tasting overlooking the vineyards
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Included
Pass By:  
Golden Gate Bridge
The Golden Gate Bridge is a suspension bridge spanning the Golden Gate, the one-mile-wide (1.6 km) strait connecting San Francisco Bay and the Pacific Ocean.
Pass By:  
Presidio of San Francisco
The Presidio, a 1,500-acre park on a former military post, is a major outdoor recreation hub. It has forested areas, miles of trails, a golf course and scenic overlooks.
Pass By:  
Palace of Fine Arts Theatre
The Palace of Fine Arts in the Marina District of San Francisco, California, is a monumental structure originally constructed for the 1915 Panama-Pacific Exposition in order to exhibit works of art presented there.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Exact destinations & itinerary may differ due to weather, road conditions, and the guide's discretion.
  • For hotel pickups, if your hotel is not listed, please select the Hilton Union Square at 333 O'Farrell Street (the meeting point is outside the Mason Street entrance).
  • Please check your confirmation letter for exact pick-up time and location. It is your responsibility to make it on tour on time
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • This tour is available Friday through Sunday only.
  • This tour operates with a minimum number of guests
  • For international guests, please be aware the legal drinking age in the United States is 21 years of age. You must be 21 years of age or older to join this tour. No exceptions.
  • Wineries visited are subject to change
  • For Private Tour option, size of vehicle will be dependent on the size of your party
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Extranomical Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
157 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 157 reviews
star-5
A stunning American industry of which Californians can be proud!
DianaS_K
, Aug 2022
Randall was extremely helpful in sharing early on the 5 "s" rules of wine tasting, of possible wines to taste and why, together with possible lunch sites, thus reducing the anxieties of the trip so we could just relax, enjoy ourselves and learn!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
We are happy to hear that you were able to relax and enjoy. Our Napa tour is incredible and Randall a great guide. Let's do it again soon!
star-3
The date of the tour we...
Savitha_S
, Jul 2022
The date of the tour we had booked was changed at short notice which caused inconvenience to us We were taken to only one of the vineyards which was mentioned at the time of initial booking . The Maria cencetto wine tasting was very unsatisfactory was as it like doing a tasting in a restaurant and not a vineyard . We were asked to tip the host . At The Twomey vineyard , we were only offered 3 wine tastings The guide was good and did her best and gave her a $100 tip On the whole , we were not happy with the way the tour was organised
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
I am glad we were able to chat about your experience in Napa Valley. Again, we apologize for the need to change the tour day. It was nice that you enjoy Castello di Amorosa and hope that you give us another try on your next trip to San Francisco.
star-5
Fun, informative and picturesque!
Jelena_H
, Jul 2022
Such a fun day with stops to a castle, two smaller relaxed wineries and lunch in a cute town in Calistoga. On the way back, the tour stops at the Golden Gate Bridge for pictures. We loved our tour guide, Randall, who was very knowledgeable about wine and made the tour so lively!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
This is a really special Napa experience and thanks for letting us know you enjoyed it. We will pass your kind words on to Randall. Take care.
star-5
Great wine tasting tour!
Mark_S
, Jun 2022
Great communication with your company before trip. Dustin was the best driver. Gave us so much information. Castle was beautiful, horses farm interesting, and wine tasting at Oakville so fun. Great stop at Napa sign and Golden Gate Bridge to wrap up the day. Met some nice fellow travelers. Only 15 people in our tour. Would recommend it to anyone.recommend it to
star-5
Napa Wine Tasting
Jen_F
, May 2022
We had an amazing time with Doug as our tour guide/driver! All three wineries were very enjoyable. The castle was our favorite but Tamber Bay and Ru Vango were still very nice. The only downside was that you don’t get a tour of any of the wineries to really talk you through the wine making process. We would book again!
star-4
Nice day and tour
Rebecious
, May 2022
We had a nice tour. Our guide, Randall, gave some helpful insight and knowledge all throughout the day. The first stop was at the Castle. Randall warned us the staff was slow there and he was not wrong. We had just under two hours there and honestly, we could have used more. This place was the biggest and had the most tastings. I was extremely unimpressed with the plastic bag of bread sticks thrown on the table but grateful we had at least something. For the price of this tour and the appearance of the winery, I would expect a nicer presentation. Although our server, Gerard, was very kind, I felt like he had a lot on his plate and our tour group was an afterthought and they were just herding us in and out. Randall had recommended some wines to try before we went and this was extremely helpful. The wines were quite good and we did ship some home :) Lunch was in cute town with plenty of food options and adorable shops. We had 1.5 hours and that was a good amount of time. We enjoyed lunch and visiting a few shops (the Mad Mod Shop was my favorite). The second winery (the stables one) was in an absolutely picturesque setting and we enjoyed the wines too. I also loved petting one of the resident cats in the main shop. The one thing I would change here was add in some food items, be it crackers, bread sticks, anything! People around us were doing pairings with simple foods, like meat, cheese or cookies and I am unsure why our group tasting did not include anything. I really think all wine tastings should always be paired with a bit of food to help balance out the alcohol (and it just tastes wonderful!) We had about an hour at this winery and that was a perfect amount of time. The last winery was very small and we had an hour which was way too long in my opinion. We could have been in and out in half an hour for how fast it went. Also no food/snack served :( The wine was quite good though (especially the rose!) We stopped at the golden gate on the way home for photo op which is always nice. All in all, it was a good day and tour. One last thing though, the van for the small group tour has capacity for 13 or 14 passengers but even with 11, it was quite cramped. We were in the second row and my husband is 6' and his knees were crushed into the backs of the seats in front of us. Thankfully, because someone else moved to the front seat, he was able to move to a seat closer to the sliding door which gave him so relief. But know that the van is cramped. Had I known what kind of vehicle it was, I might not have booked. I thought it would be a mini bus not a van. But it worked out because two people did not show.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks for leaving such a thoughtful review. It is a good idea to have a little bread or cheese with your wine on tour and they are available to purchase at the winery. We do not include them in the tour price because people's food preferences are so varied that it has not worked for the entire group. Glad you were able to sort things out on the vehicle. Take care.
star-4
Starts off great but leaves much to be desired towards the end.
Monica_A
, May 2022
I would give the overall tour 5 stars because you do get a lot for your money. But, I give it 4 for a few reasons. Our tour guide was great but his driving skills were a little rough. A few people were late so as he was trying to decide what to do he made a call on the road and almost ran a red light. If it wasn't for a passenger that said stop, he would have ran that light for sure. There were 2 pedestrians in the walk way so he would have no doubt hit them. He also merged and cut some people off while driving. Now for the wineries. Castello Di Amorosa is absolutely great! The wine was excellent and they gave you options to try. The winery was beautiful. I highly recommend that winery. Tamber Bey winery was also beautiful and had horses. So that added a nice touch to it, but the wine wasn't very good. Ru Vango, was ok but not that great to look at. It had a nice vineyard but the winery itself looked so plain. That wine was also not very good. If I was in charge of scheduling this tour I'd end with Castello Di Amorosa (save the best for last?). The other two weren't great overall so I'd recommend changing them up. But that is just my taste. I liked the tour overall. But next time I go I think I will pick the wineries myself to limit disappointment when tasting.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks for your good feedback about your tour last week. It would be great to end with Castello but it is very far north in Napa Valley and would lengthen the tour by over an hour and its a long day already. We have a collection of partners for the second and third wineries and will take your comments into account for future tours.
star-4
Unique stops
RHONDA_O
, May 2022
We had eleven people on this small group tour. We were supposed to stop at three wineries = Castello di Amorosa, Tamber Bey and Keiu Huong. While it was easy to register for the tour, there was confusion about pick up locations. I received at least four different locations from Viator, with a different one from Extranomical, the actual tour operator. When the voucher itself had yet a different pick up location, I had to contact Extranomical to verify. They were very nice and response time was quick. Our guide, Dustin, was funny and personable. He had some great facts about both San Francisco and the area around Napa as we drove there. We stopped to pick up breakfast, which put us a little behind schedule. Our first stop, Castello di Amorosa. was beautiful. We were asked what kinds of wine we wanted to sample (as a group), so were able to try different reds and each was described well. We had six different tastings with a knowledgeable server, then had about an hour to wander the castle - yes, it's an actual castle - and the vineyards. There are animals there and it was a delightful experience. The next stop, Tamber Bey, is actually a horse ranch. There is no vineyard there, they bring grapes in and make the wine there. We weren't given any choice of tastings so had two white, two red. Again, there was time to look around but since it is basically just a courtyard with horse pastures surrounding it, there wasn't much to see. Not my favorite stop. The final tasting was Oakville Grocery, where the wine room has dozens of bottles behind glass with spigots. We were given prepaid cards and you swipe the card to choose your tasting - taste, half glass or full glass. While the wine isn't made there, it was a great way to taste wine we normally wouldn't. We tried a $450 bottle of wine! The place is historic and there is a courtyard to sit in the sun. This one was lovely. We stopped for a quick photo op at the Napa Valley sign and again at a Golden Gate Bridge turnoff for pictures. All in all, we had a great day and learned a lot about the area.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks for taking the time to review our tour. It is a bit different each day and we're glad to hear you had a good time. Let's do it again soon!
star-5
Best Napa Trip!
Karsten_W
, May 2022
Ross is the best! If he is your driver you are in luck. So pleasant and knowledgeable. He put up with our danish jokes. The castle was worth the visit all on its own. We had a great day and got back around 7pm. Would definitely go again!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks for your review. Yes, please join us again, maybe on a different tour. Call our office about a second tour discount.
star-1
Disaster
KATHERINER_R
, Apr 2022
Tried to cancel on us and then booked an uber instead of a bus with your guide. Trip started an hour late and we were rushed through everything. This was my third wine tour through Napa/Sonoma and cannot recommend it.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Again, we are sorry about the way you experienced our Napa Valley Reserve Tour. This tour has been extremely popular recently and was mistakenly overbooked last Saturday. We are glad that we were able to talk and work things out to your satisfaction. We hope you'll give the tour another try soon!
star-5
Great trip!
Eric_L
, Nov 2021
Randall was excellent with his explanations of wines. He made sure we were on time to all of our destinations. Overall it was a fantastic day!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Love the tour and our Randall our tour guide. O
LaNora_A
, Nov 2021
Randall our tour guide had a wealth of knowledge about Napa Wine County, the the 3 winery’s we visited and their wines. He answered our questions and a great driver. The mini bus was cleaned and the small group experience made it more intimate.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
A small group tour of all Napa wineries and Randall there to make it all come together. Glad to hear you had a great time. Let's do it again soon!
star-5
Great Wine Tour!
Tori_G
, Sep 2021
Randall was a great tour guide. He told us history of the Bay Area and gave details about each winery we went to.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Randall is the ultimate tour guide...so glad to hear your compliments. We'll pass them along. Come again.
star-4
Worth the money,
Hunter_B
, Aug 2021
Best place was the first stop at the castle, the worst place was tanber bey, wine was ok and the scene was beautiful, but def my least favorite experience out of the three we went to.
star-5
Great experience!
Katrina_M
, Aug 2021
Our driver Randall was amazing! I’ve learned so much about wine history from him. He gave us great wine recommendations and I bought 3 bottles to be shipped to me. Will definitely book this trip again! Highly recommend!
star-5
Napa for Wine Lovers is a great tour!
Susan_Q
, Aug 2021
We really loved our small group Napa Valley tour. Randall was our fantastic driver. He’s very knowledgeable with a great sense of humor. It was fun to visit three wineries. We would do this tour again!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Randall loved reading your review. Thanks for the kind words and come again soon.
star-5
A very good Napa Tour, not an small group but quite fine
Carlos_C
, Aug 2021
Scenery, Tastings, Guide. The experience was really nice. Castello is wonderful as Calistoga is it. The other two winerys were not in the same level, but they presented a variety of choices. Randall, our guide did a prety good work.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
We are so happy you enjoy our new Napa-only VIP tour. Let's do it again soon.
star-5
Excellent tour!
Jennifer_G
, Jul 2021
The driver/guide, Randall, was amazing! The wineries we visited were excellent. Would highly recommend.
star-2
Castle de Amoroza was great
Imelda_H
, Jun 2021
Good one was Castle de Amoroza. We did not go to Sterling Vineyard with Cable wire ride. Hoping refunds for that. Host/tour guide was awesome & the driver.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
Not as Advertised
Kathleen_S
, Jun 2021
This tour was not as advertised on Viator website. While I realize that Covid may impact schedules, etc., we selected this tour because of the Air Tram ride at Sterling, which has been closed due to fires since October 2020 (6+ months ago)! We were also set on Beringer, which, we were told once on bus, was closed. Yet, Beringer’s website indicates it is open and others on our tour had friends that went their last week. The Viator website also promises a four hour stop at Napa Valley, which did not occur. While two of the wineries included were very nice, the third was just ok. Lastly, the bus which had 14 people (although Viator advertiserd groups less than 10) was uncomfortably hot! The air conditioning was clearly not working correctly. We spent almost $700 for three people and were disappointed. This is not a reflection on the tour guide - rather on Viator’s misleading advertising.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our Napa Valley Tour. Yes, it true that it has not been possible to get tasting appointments at Sterling (fires) and Beringer (COVID-19) and that we have substituted comparable high-end wineries. Since this itinerary change was temporary, we had not updated the Viator description. Now that California has lifted all pandemic-related restrictions, we will be updating the tour itinerary. Please contact our guest services office at (415) 357-0700 to discuss our Satisfaction Guarantee.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Small Group Napa Valley Tour for Wine Lovers
Likely to Sell Out
Small Group Napa Valley Tour for Wine Lovers

star-4.5157

9 to 10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$259.00

star-4.5118

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$169.00

star-4.5142

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$715.00

star-5648

9 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$159.00

star-4.513

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$356.00

star-4.5323

15 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$179.00

star-4.5124

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$139.00

star-5166

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$180.00

star-4.546

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$199.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations