Recent Searches

Molokini and Turtle Arches Snorkeling Trip from Ma'alaea Harbor

star-4.5597 Reviews
Badge of Excellence
Wailuku, United States
Molokini and Turtle Arches Snorkeling Trip from Ma'alaea Harbor
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon5 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here


Get off the beaten path to explore the wild side of Molokini on this half-day adventure from Maui. The small, crescent-shaped island of Molokini is an extinct volcanic crater with a thriving coral reef, home to more than 250 species of fish and 38 species of coral. Hop aboard a 54-foot, single-deck catamaran and jump in the water for a snorkel at the Turtle Arches reef. Then, cruise around Molokini's rugged, red rock back wall, home to a variety of seabirds. Snorkeling equipment plus a continental breakfast, buffet lunch, and refreshments are included.
  • Enjoy a snorkeling adventure from Maui
  • See more than 250 species of fish
  • Get up close with wildlife in their natural environment
  • Snorkeling equipment included
  • Continental breakfast and buffet lunch provided

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

This trip takes you to quiet Molokini on a catamaran with a waterslide. 
Saved to wishlist!
Professionally-fitted snorkel gear, including optical masks for eyeglass wearers, flotation device, learn-to-snorkel class, fish ID class, guided reef tour
Continental breakfast: banana bread, assorted pastries and fresh island fruit.
BBQ Lunch: teriyaki marinated chicken breasts, hot dogs, garden burgers, potato salad, corn and bean salad, and chocolate chip cookies for dessert.
Refreshments: sodas, tropical juices and filtered water.
One free child age 4 and under per paying adult. Children ages 5-12 charged child rate.
Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
Hotel pickup and drop-off are not available.
192 Maalaea Rd , 192 Maalaea Rd, Wailuku, HI 96793, USA

PWF retail store in Ma'alaea Harbor Shops next to Maui Ocean Center Aquarium shared parking Check-in 45 minutes prior to departure time

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • For each paying adult, 1 child ages 4 and under goes free. All children must be on the order/voucher as they account for a seat.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • To protect the reef environment and in support of the statewide ban on sunscreens, we will no longer allow the use of any non-reef safe sunscreen on board any snorkel eco tours. 4oz Reef safe sunscreen will be available on board for $13
  • Most travelers can participate
  • You will need to bring your own towels and credit cards for any onboard purchases as the vessels are cashless except for gratuities
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 70 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Pacific Whale Foundation
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Molokini and Turtle Arches Snorkeling Trip from Ma'alaea Harbor?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Molokini and Turtle Arches Snorkeling Trip from Ma'alaea Harbor.
What is the policy on sanitization during Molokini and Turtle Arches Snorkeling Trip from Ma'alaea Harbor?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Molokini and Turtle Arches Snorkeling Trip from Ma'alaea Harbor.
What is the social distancing policy during Molokini and Turtle Arches Snorkeling Trip from Ma'alaea Harbor?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Molokini and Turtle Arches Snorkeling Trip from Ma'alaea Harbor.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Molokini and Turtle Arches Snorkeling Trip from Ma'alaea Harbor?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Molokini and Turtle Arches Snorkeling Trip from Ma'alaea Harbor.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips

  • "Weather plays a huuge factor here, proceed only if you’re okay not seeing what you want." See review
  • "Go on the early trip to beat the other boats." See review
  • "The water is very clear and there are fish to see, however unless you swim close to the rocks, this is very difficult in the rough conditions, you don't see as much." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews


597 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 597 reviews
Great trip
, Aug 2022
Our family had a great time on this trip. Friendly and knowledgeable guides, enjoyable lunch after the snorkeling was done, incredible blue water. All our photos looked like we used filters! We would choose this operator again.
Good experience
, Aug 2022
Our trip was interrupted by the needed care of an ill passenger on the excursion which required a trip back to dock so unfortunately there was an hour between snorkeling locations and the second location was lacking fish and turtles (not sure if it was because of the delay or not but it is generally better to snorkel earlier in the morning and we didn’t get there until noon). First snorkeling area was pretty crowded and they definitely try to keep you close to the boat. Food was just okay; especially considering we have had very good food on other boat excursions in Hawaii. The organization is a conservation non profit so there was a tiny bit of “join us” conversation, but not too bad. Overall experience was very good. Also, parking is pay by hour…with our delay we were concerned we might have been ticketed, but we’re not.
BeAutiful experience
, Aug 2022
We had a wonderful time! Staff very friendly and knowledgeable! Beautiful experience! Breakfast and lunch were also delicious!
The first place we were...
, Aug 2022
The first place we were going to snorkel at had too strong of a current and so we went to plan B which was ok. We did get to see one turtle there. The snorkeling at Molokini was amazing, however. I’d definitely recommend this to others.
Experience was well...
, Aug 2022
Experience was well thought out. Attention to detail from staff excellent. Top of my list on excursions
Turtle Town is AWESOME
, Aug 2022
We were most wanting to snorkel the crater but Turtle Town was even better! Saw a green sea turtle, white tip reef shark and various other fishes.
Wonderful tour!!
, Aug 2022
Everything was so wonderful. The crew were so kind and our family really enjoyed the food and service. Thank you!!
Great Experience
, Jul 2022
The crew on the boat was excellent and took great care of us. They were also watched out for everyone to make sure that they had a safe and fun time. Great job!
Highly recommended excursion in Maui
, Jul 2022
Well organized trip through beginning to the end; fun and energetic crews; decent breakfast and lunch. I had minor injury and two of crew-members took well care of me! To the future visitors, pay attention to the instructions before the activities! Definitely recommended them and will join their excursions again! - Grace
We saw lots of fish and...
, Jul 2022
We saw lots of fish and 2 dolphins. The naturalistes on bord were very knowledgeble and enthusiastic. Wonderfull half a day spend at the Molokini crater and Turtle bay
When I come back, I'll do it again!
, Jul 2022
It was an awesome experience snorkeling! My first time doing it. Great and knowledgeable crew. They were the best! Will do it again!
Not for kids or elderly
, Jul 2022
Good but not for small children or elderly. There are no handrails for leverage for easier accent OUT of the water. Additionally the second stop is always way to windy and wave-y. I am a good swimmer and extreme effort was needed just to hold in one place.
Amazing snorkeling trip
, Jul 2022
The snorkeling trip with Pacific Whale Foundations was amazing. The staff is friendly and the food was really good ! We had a blast
Worth the Trip
, Jul 2022
We felt this excursion had great value for the price. We enjoyed the naturalists sharing the history and culture of each of the islands and volcanoes we saw. Snorkeling in the crater was amazing and worth the trip. The captain and crew were amazing. Lunch was also really solid. They were serving non-alcoholic drinks the whole time and booze after the swim.
We would not go again
, Jul 2022
For starters not a cooperating weather so our trip to turtle arches did not take place. Although the captain recommended to reschedule due to bad weather in the briefing no Refunds for those unable to reschedule. So we went in for half the offering and same price. There were so little fish! The water was beautiful and clear and we did see over 10 spinet dolphins showing us the way and flirting with the ship. The food was decent and the crew very nice. If you don’t like to risk your money considering booking if know the weather will be nice. If you are expecting to see fish go elsewhere.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Aloha Dorinda, I am so sorry to hear that Mother Nature so impacted your experience and am actually surprised to hear that no reschedule/refund option was given. I have though gone into the Viator system and indeed process a 50% refund due to your disappointing experience. Thank you so much for taking to provide your feedback. Mahalo!
Highly recommend
, Jul 2022
Terrific crew and experience! They take safety and conservation seriously. Kids 8 and 15 both loved it.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Great Crew and Unforgettable Experience
, Jul 2022
Excellent snorkeling tour with friendly and knowledgeable crew. Molokini has beautiful crystal blue water with beautiful coral, however I personally didn’t see a lot of diverse fish here compared to some other snorkeling sites on Maui. Others on our tour, however, did report seeing an octopus and other cool wildlife. At the following snorkeling location in “turtle town”, unfortunately we didn’t come across any turtles, but we did come across a pack of spinner dolphins that breezed past us - apparently a rare sighting. Couldn’t believe my eyes. An unforgettable experience.
Our family and friends...
, Jul 2022
Our family and friends had a great time on this excursion. The staff was friendly and the snorkeling was great.
Super fun.
, Jul 2022
Seeing all the beauty and colors under water. Coral and colorful fish like out of a book. The boat ride was very interesting and fun with the high winds. The crew was excellent and very helpful. Safety was top priority. Would recommend to everyone. Mahalo.
, Jul 2022
The crew and snorkeling was AWESOME! I am giving it 4 stars because we didn’t get to snorkel at the last stop due to wind and current. But if it’s a good day this is a MUST! If I’m able to come back to hawaii I would do it AGAIN!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations